2019 Shortlist

The full 2019 shortlist is as follows:

The Communication Award

  • Alsop High School, Liverpool
  • Ormiston Bolingbroke Academy, Runcorn
  • Whalley Range High School, Manchester


Eco School Project of the Year

  • All Saints Catholic Primary School, Liverpool
  • Bedford Primary School, Bootle
  • Evelyn Community Primary School, Knowsley
  • Heswall Primary School, Wirral


Spirit of Enterprise Award

  • Halewood Church of England Primary School, Knowsley
  • St Damian’s RC Science College, Tameside
  • St Oswald’s CE Primary School, Sefton


Innovative and Creative Literacy Award

  • Middlefield Community Primary School, Liverpool
  • Parish Church of England Primary School, St Helens
  • Our Lady of Perpetual Succour Primary School, Widnes


SEND Provision Award

  • Abbot’s Lea School, Liverpool
  • Rainford High, St Helens
  • Plantation Primary School, Knowsley
  • The Barlow RC High School, Manchester


STEM Project of the Year

  • Cardinal Langley School, Rochdale
  • Gateacre School, Liverpool
  • Landgate School, Wigan


Outstanding Arts in a Primary School

  • Bedford Primary School, Sefton
  • Lister Junior School, Liverpool
  • Riverside Primary School, Wirral


Outstanding Arts in a Secondary School

  • Hillside High School, Sefton
  • St Julie’s Catholic High School, Liverpool
  • The Belvedere Academy, Liverpool
  • Wirral Grammar Boys and Wirral Grammar Girls, Wirral


Career Aspiration Award

  • Abbot’s Lea School, Liverpool
  • Archbishop Blanch School, Liverpool
  • St Wilfrid’s Church of England Primary School, Wigan
  • St Bede’s Catholic High School, Ormskirk


Community Partnership Award

  • Chorlton High School, Chorlton
  • Gateacre School, Liverpool
  • Haydock High School, Haydock
  • Whitefield Primary School, Liverpool


Mental Health & Wellbeing

  • Bickerstaffe Primary School, West Lancashire
  • Calderstones School, Liverpool
  • Formby High School, Sefton
  • Northwood Community Primary School, Knowsley
  • South Deeside Primary School Federation
  • St Mary’s and St Thomas C of E Primary School, St Helens


Innovation in Education Award

  • St Vincent’s School for Sensory Impairment, Liverpool
  • St Teresa of Lisiuex Catholic Primary School, Liverpool
  • Whitefield Primary School, Liverpool


Outstanding Commitment to Sport in a Primary School

  • Halewood Church of England Primary School, Knowsley
  • Plantation Primary School, Knowsley
  • St Mary’s RC Primary School, Rochdale
  • The Belvedere Preparatory School, Liverpool


Outstanding Commitment to Sport in a Secondary School

  • Cowley International School, St Helens
  • Rainford High, St Helens
  • Formby High School, Sefton
  • Ridgeway High School, Wirral


Leadership Team of the Year

  • Wright Robinson College, Manchester
  • St Peter’s CE Primary School, Farnworth
  • Knowsley Lane Primary School, Knowsley


Teacher of the Year

  • Adam Sirett, The Barlow RC High School, Manchester
  • Dr Carly Brooke, Liverpool Life Sciences UTC, Liverpool
  • Paul Edwards, Cowley College, St Helens
  • Stephen Hill, St Joseph’s RC Primary School, Oldham


School Support Star of the Year

  • Elizabeth Clarke, Kings Leadership Academy, Liverpool
  • Katherine Lockley, St Thomas CE Primary School, Sefton
  • Kim Corrigan, Middlefield Community Primary School, Liverpool
  • Wendy Davenport, The Oldham Academy North, Oldham


Most Inspirational 16-18 Education Provider

  • Archbishop Blanch School, Liverpool
  • Carmel College, St Helens
  • Robbie Fowler Education and Football Academy, Liverpool


Most Inspirational Secondary School

  • The Academy of St Francis of Assisi, Liverpool
  • Gateacre School, Liverpool
  • The Hollins, Accrington


Most Inspirational Primary School

  • Alexandra Park Primary School, Stockport
  • Eldon Primary School, Preston
  • Netherton Moss Primary School, Sefton
  • Valewood Primary School, Sefton


Wow Recognition Award

  • Chorlton High School, Manchester
  • Kirkby High School, Knowsley
  • Liverpool Life Sciences UTC
  • The Hollins, Accrington