Educate Awards reveal 2022 shortlist!

Over 50 inspiring schools and colleges from the Liverpool City Region, Greater Manchester, Cheshire and Lancashire, have been named in the highly anticipated Educate Awards 2022 shortlist.  

For over a decade, the Educate Awards has shined a spotlight on the education sector, showcasing the work of schools and colleges that are continuing to deliver an outstanding education for children and helping achieve their full potential. 

With over 20 categories, the shortlist recognises inspiring teachers, dedicated support staff, efficient business managers and strategic leadership teams. 

The awards, in partnership with Copyrite Systems and Ricoh, is the largest education awards in the region and will take place at the iconic Liverpool Cathedral on Friday 18 November. 

Kim O’Brien, founder of the Educate Awards, said: “A massive congratulations to all the schools and colleges that have made this year’s shortlist. 

“Entries get stronger every year which makes the judges job a lot more difficult and so it is really crucial that submissions meet the stringent criteria of each category. It is no mean feat making it this far!”  

Kim added: “Plans are well under way to make the Educate Awards 2022 ceremony another standout event in the school calendar. Together with our incredible sponsors, we look forward to celebrating with everyone on the night.” 

Associate sponsors of the Educate Awards 2022 include: All About STEM, Angel Solutions, CER, CPMM Media Group, Evaluate-Ed, Hidden Strength, LCR Careers Hub, Liverpool John Moores University, LSSP, Progress Careers, SENDSCOPE and SupplyWell.  

Shortlisted schools and colleges will be contacted in the coming days about what happens next, along with full details about this year’s ceremony and tickets. 

The full Educate Awards 2022 shortlist: 

1. The Communication Award

Gateacre School, Liverpool
Litherland High School, Sefton
Maricourt Catholic High School, Sefton

2. Outstanding Commitment to the Environment

Neston High School, Cheshire
Netherton Moss Primary School, Sefton
Plantation Primary School, Knowsley

3. Careers & Enterprise Award

Archbishop Blanch School, Liverpool
Meols Cop High School, Sefton
Ridgeway High School, Wirral
Wirral Grammar School for Boys

4. SEND Provision Award

Abbot’s Lea School, Liverpool
Maghull High School, Sefton
Notre Dame Catholic College, Liverpool
Rainford High, St Helens

5. Innovative & Creative Literacy Award

Childwall Sports and Science Academy, Liverpool
Cowley International College, St Helens
Eldon Primary School, Preston

6. Outstanding Commitment to STEM

Eldon Primary School, Preston
Great Crosby Catholic Primary School, Sefton
Maghull High School, Sefton

7. Outstanding Arts in School

Formby High School, Sefton
Netherton Moss Primary School, Sefton
St Mary’s Catholic College, Wirral
Stockport Academy, Greater Manchester
The Hollins, Accrington

8. Community Partnership Award

Archbishop Blanch School, Liverpool
Chorlton High School, Manchester
Maricourt Catholic High School, Sefton
The Hollins, Accrington

9. Mental Health & Wellbeing Award

Canon Sharples CE Primary School and Nursery, Wigan
St Michael’s Catholic Primary School, Widnes
Wright Robinson College, Manchester

10. Outstanding Commitment to Sport in Primary School

Eldon Primary School, Preston
St Joseph’s Catholic Primary School, Wallasey, Wirral
St Elizabeth’s Catholic Primary School, Sefton

11. Outstanding Commitment to Sport in Secondary School

Cowley International College, St Helens
Rainford High, St Helens
Wright Robinson College, Manchester

12. Leadership Team of the Year

Middlefield Primary School, Liverpool
St Wilfrid’s Church of England Primary Academy, Wigan
Wright Robinson College, Manchester

13. Business Manager of the Year

Kate Green, Meadowside School, Wirral
Stuart Davidson, Myerscough College, Preston
Sue McMullen, St Michael’s Catholic Primary School, Widnes

14. Teacher of the Year

Keren Elson, Riverside Primary School, Wirral
Lauren Seggie, The Barlow RC High School, Manchester
Kira Redmond, St Peter’s CE Primary School, Bolton
Stephanie Wardale, Hillside High School, Sefton

15. School Support Star of the Year

Debbie Gardiner, Meadowside School, Wirral
Mark Costello, Launchpad Centre KS4, St Helens
Mike Smith, Cardinal Langley RC High School, Rochdale
Phil Johnson, The Academy of St Francis of Assisi, Liverpool

16. Most Inspirational Alternative Provision

Chorlton High School, Manchester
Endeavour-Darwen Vale High School, Blackburn
Holy Family Catholic Multi Academy Trust, Wirral

17. Most Inspirational 16-18 Education Provider

Everton Football College, Liverpool
ProDirect Football Academy, Lancashire
Wargrave House School and College, Newton-le-Willows

18. Most Inspirational Secondary School

Cowley International College, St Helens
Rainford High, St Helens
Sharples School, Bolton
The Hollins, Accrington

19. Most Inspirational Primary School

Christ the King Catholic Primary School, Liverpool
Parish CE Primary School, St Helens
St Peter’s CE Primary School, Bolton

20. WOW Recognition Award

Beech Hall School, Cheshire
Phoenix Primary School, Liverpool
The Academy of St Nicholas, Liverpool