North West schools and colleges honoured at the Educate Awards 2022

19 inspiring schools and colleges from the Liverpool City Region, Greater Manchester, Cheshire and Lancashire, won at the Educate Awards on Friday 18 November.

Now in its eleventh year, the Educate Awards showcases the hard work and creativity that takes place in the education sector, from STEM and performing arts to sport and literacy.

The awards also recognise the individuals who bring schools and colleges to life, from inspiring teachers and dedicated support staff to efficient business managers and strategic leadership teams.

In partnership with Copyrite Systems and Ricoh, the Educate Awards took place at the Liverpool Cathedral and welcomed over 600 guests. The evening was hosted by broadcaster, Simon ‘Rossie’ Ross.

Alongside the awards ceremony was a delicious three course gala dinner and glittering entertainment from St Bede’s Catholic High School’s very own saxophonist and chamber choir, a dance performance from Archbishop Beck Catholic College and a Legally Blonde The Musical medley by St Mary’s Catholic College.

Kim O’Brien, founder of the Educate Awards, said: “Congratulations to all the schools and colleges that won at this year’s Educate Awards!

“A big well done to the runners up and finalists too. Results this year were incredibly close, and judges had a difficult time deciding not only the shortlist but also overall the winners.

Kim added: “The Educate Awards team is proud to champion the innovation, diversity and dedication that is taking place in educational establishments around the region. Entries will open again in February 2023 and we encourage all types of schools and colleges to submit as many entries as they like, for free.”

Associate sponsors of the Educate Awards 2022 include: All About STEMAngel SolutionsCERCPMM Media GroupEvaluate-Ed, Hidden StrengthLCR Careers HubLiverpool John Moores UniversityLSSPProgress Careers, SENDSCOPE, SupplyWell and Winstanley College.

The Educate Awards 2022 winners and runners up:

1. The Communication Award

Winner: Litherland High School, Sefton
Runner up: Maricourt Catholic High School, Sefton

2. Outstanding Commitment to the Environment

Winner: Neston High School, Cheshire
Runner up: Netherton Moss Primary School, Sefton

3. Careers & Enterprise Award

Winner: Wirral Grammar School for Boys
Runner up: Ridgeway High School, Wirral

4. SEND Provision Award

Winner: Notre Dame Catholic College, Liverpool
Runner up: Rainford High, St Helens

5. Innovative & Creative Literacy Award

Winner: Eldon Primary School, Preston
Runner up: Cowley International College, St Helens

6. Outstanding Commitment to STEM

Winner: Maghull High School, Sefton
Runner up: Great Crosby Catholic Primary School, Sefton

7. Outstanding Arts in School

Winner: The Hollins, Accrington
Runner up: Stockport Academy, Greater Manchester

8. Community Partnership Award

Winner: Archbishop Blanch School, Liverpool
Runner up: Chorlton High School, Manchester

9. Mental Health & Wellbeing Award

Winner: St Michael’s Catholic Primary School, Widnes
Runner up: Wright Robinson College, Manchester

10. Outstanding Commitment to Sport in Primary School

Winner: St Elizabeth’s Catholic Primary School, Sefton
Runner up: St Joseph’s Catholic Primary School, Wallasey, Wirral

11. Outstanding Commitment to Sport in Secondary School

Winner: Wright Robinson College, Manchester
Runner up: Rainford High, St Helens

12. Leadership Team of the Year

Winner: St Wilfrid’s Church of England Primary Academy, Wigan
Runner up: Wright Robinson College, Manchester

13. Business Manager of the Year

Winner: Sue McMullen, St Michael’s Catholic Primary School, Widnes
Runner up: Stuart Davidson, Myerscough College, Preston

14. Teacher of the Year

Winner: Kira Redmond, St Peter’s CE Primary School, Bolton
Runner up: Stephanie Wardale, Hillside High School, Sefton

15. School Support Star of the Year

Winner: Mike Smith, Cardinal Langley RC High School, Rochdale
Runner up: Mark Costello, Launchpad Centre KS4, St Helens

16. Most Inspirational Alternative Provision

Winner: Endeavour-Darwen Vale High School, Blackburn
Runner up: Holy Family Catholic Multi Academy Trust, Wirral

17. Most Inspirational 16-18 Education Provider

Winner: Wargrave House School and College, Newton-le-Willows
Runner up: Everton Football College, Liverpool

18. Most Inspirational Secondary School

Winner: Rainford High, St Helens
Runner up: The Hollins, Accrington

19. Most Inspirational Primary School

Winner: Parish CE Primary School, St Helens
Runner up: St Peter’s CE Primary School, Bolton

20. WOW Recognition Award

Winner: The Academy of St Nicholas, Liverpool
Runner up: Beech Hall School, Cheshire