Revealed: The Educate Awards 2019 shortlist!

The shortlist for the prestigious Educate Awards 2019 has now been announced!

The awards, in partnership with Copyrite Systems and Ricoh, is in its eighth year and is the largest education awards in the North West.

From inspiring teachers, dedicated support staff to innovative projects across the curriculum, the awards recognises the work of schools and colleges which are delivering outstanding education and helping students achieve their full potential.

Since launching in Liverpool in 2012, the awards has grown rapidly, now recognising schools and colleges right across the Liverpool City Region, Cheshire, Lancashire and Greater Manchester.

In total there are 21 award categories, from Teacher of the Year, Career Aspiration, School Support Star of the Year and Outstanding Commitment to Sport.

This year, a new category has been launched which recognises schools’ commitment to mental wellbeing. The Mental Health & Wellbeing Award will be awarded to a school with a strong commitment to promoting social and emotional wellbeing, mental health and wellness.

This difficult task of shortlisting the entries fell upon the esteemed judging panel which includes Michelle Dow, managing director of All About STEM; James Tartt, Merseyside track athlete and architect; Councillor Gary Millar, assistant mayor & mayoral lead for business & international trade; Chris Walker, regional managing editor of Trinity Mirror North West and North Wales; Lesley Martin-Wright, chief executive of Knowsley Chamber; Andrew Pimbley of Wirral’s Claremont Farm; Sue Cronin, head of teacher education at Liverpool Hope University, Suzanne Ramsey former partnership manager at Liverpool School Sports Partnership and Allan Williams, learning manager at Everyman and Playhouse Theatres.

Kim O’Brien, founder of the Educate Awards, said: “Congratulations to all the schools and colleges shortlisted for the Educate Awards 2019!

“Every year, the judges’ job gets harder as the entries that are submitted get better. Whether it is the arts, careers, sport or their commitment to mental health and wellbeing, we aim to recognise all areas of education and shine a spotlight on all the hard work that goes on in schools and colleges each academic year.

“We look forward celebrating with all the finalists and winners on the 15 November.”

The winners will be announced at the annual awards ceremony, which takes place on Friday 15 November at Liverpool Cathedral.

Associate sponsors include: All About STEM, Angel Solutions, CER, CPMM Media Group, DMR David M Robinson Jewellery & Watches, Liverpool John Moores University, Liverpool Diocesan Schools Trust, Liverpool Learning Partnership, LSSP, Progress To Excellence Group, Satis Education, School Improvement Liverpool, Signature Living and Winstanley College.

The full 2019 shortlist is as follows:

The Communication Award

  • Alsop High School, Liverpool
  • Ormiston Bolingbroke Academy, Runcorn
  • Whalley Range High School, Manchester


Eco School Project of the Year

  • All Saints Catholic Primary School, Liverpool
  • Bedford Primary School, Bootle
  • Evelyn Community Primary School, Knowsley
  • Heswall Primary School, Wirral


Spirit of Enterprise Award

  • Halewood Church of England Primary School, Knowsley
  • St Damian’s RC Science College, Tameside
  • St Oswald’s CE Primary School, Sefton


Innovative and Creative Literacy Award

  • Middlefield Community Primary School, Liverpool
  • Parish Church of England Primary School, St Helens
  • Our Lady of Perpetual Succour Primary School, Widnes


SEND Provision Award

  • Abbot’s Lea School, Liverpool
  • Rainford High, St Helens
  • Plantation Primary School, Knowsley
  • The Barlow RC High School, Manchester


STEM Project of the Year

  • Cardinal Langley School, Rochdale
  • Gateacre School, Liverpool
  • Landgate School, Wigan


Outstanding Arts in a Primary School

  • Bedford Primary School, Sefton
  • Lister Junior School, Liverpool
  • Riverside Primary School, Wirral


Outstanding Arts in a Secondary School

  • Hillside High School, Sefton
  • St Julie’s Catholic High School, Liverpool
  • The Belvedere Academy, Liverpool
  • Wirral Grammar Boys and Wirral Grammar Girls, Wirral


Career Aspiration Award

  • Abbot’s Lea School, Liverpool
  • Archbishop Blanch School, Liverpool
  • St Wilfrid’s Church of England Primary School, Wigan
  • St Bede’s Catholic High School, Ormskirk


Community Partnership Award

  • Chorlton High School, Chorlton
  • Gateacre School, Liverpool
  • Haydock High School, Haydock
  • Whitefield Primary School, Liverpool


Mental Health & Wellbeing

  • Bickerstaffe Primary School, West Lancashire
  • Calderstones School, Liverpool
  • Formby High School, Sefton
  • Northwood Community Primary School, Knowsley
  • South Deeside Primary School Federation
  • St Mary’s and St Thomas C of E Primary School, St Helens


Innovation in Education Award

  • St Vincent’s School for Sensory Impairment, Liverpool
  • St Teresa of Lisiuex Catholic Primary School, Liverpool
  • Whitefield Primary School, Liverpool


Outstanding Commitment to Sport in a Primary School

  • Halewood Church of England Primary School, Knowsley
  • Plantation Primary School, Knowsley
  • St Mary’s RC Primary School, Rochdale
  • The Belvedere Preparatory School, Liverpool


Outstanding Commitment to Sport in a Secondary School

  • Cowley International School, St Helens
  • Rainford High, St Helens
  • Formby High School, Sefton
  • Ridgeway High School, Wirral


Leadership Team of the Year

  • Wright Robinson College, Manchester
  • St Peter’s CE Primary School, Farnworth
  • Knowsley Lane Primary School, Knowsley


Teacher of the Year

  • Adam Sirett, The Barlow RC High School, Manchester
  • Dr Carly Brooke, Liverpool Life Sciences UTC, Liverpool
  • Paul Edwards, Cowley College, St Helens
  • Stephen Hill, St Joseph’s RC Primary School, Oldham


School Support Star of the Year

  • Elizabeth Clarke, Kings Leadership Academy, Liverpool
  • Katherine Lockley, St Thomas CE Primary School, Sefton
  • Kim Corrigan, Middlefield Community Primary School, Liverpool
  • Wendy Davenport, The Oldham Academy North, Oldham


Most Inspirational 16-18 Education Provider

  • Archbishop Blanch School, Liverpool
  • Carmel College, St Helens
  • Robbie Fowler Education and Football Academy, Liverpool


Most Inspirational Secondary School

  • The Academy of St Francis of Assisi, Liverpool
  • Gateacre School, Liverpool
  • The Hollins, Accrington


Most Inspirational Primary School

  • Alexandra Park Primary School, Stockport
  • Eldon Primary School, Preston
  • Netherton Moss Primary School, Sefton
  • Valewood Primary School, Sefton


Wow Recognition Award

  • Chorlton High School, Manchester
  • Kirkby High School, Knowsley
  • Liverpool Life Sciences UTC
  • The Hollins, Accrington