Shortlist announced for The Educate Awards 2017

The shortlist for the prestigious Educate Awards 2017 has been announced.

The awards, in partnership with Copyrite Systems and Ricoh, is now in its sixth year and is the biggest celebration of education in the North West.

Held at Liverpool Cathedral, it is the one night of the year where the excellence of schools in the Liverpool City Region, Cheshire and Lancashire is celebrated and rewarded in a unique fashion, bringing together inspiring leaders and support staff to showcase the brilliance within the region’s education sector.

Hundreds of entries were sent in across the 21 award categories, breaking previous records. Categories include the WOW Recognition Award, Outstanding Sport and Teacher of the Year.

This difficult task of shortlisting the entries fell upon the esteemed judging panel which includes Michelle Dow, managing director of All About STEM; James Tartt, Merseyside track athlete and architect; Radio City breakfast host Leanne Campbell; Councillor Gary Millar, assistant mayor & mayoral lead for business & international trade; Chris Walker, regional managing editor of Trinity Mirror North West and North Wales; Lesley Martin-Wright, chief executive of Knowsley Chamber; Fiona Barnet, director of The Foundry Agency; Andrew Pimbley of Wirral’s Claremont Farm; Sue Cronin, head of teacher education at Liverpool Hope University and the education team at the respected Everyman and Playhouse Theatres.

The winners will be announced at the annual awards ceremony, which takes place on Friday 17 November at Liverpool Cathedral.

Held in partnership with Copyrite Systems and Ricoh as title sponsors, other category sponsors include Liverpool John Moores University (LJMU); The Foundry Agency; Wray Brothers; Paul Crowley & Co; The Bishop of Liverpool, The Rt. Revd. Paul Bayes; MILK Education; The Liverpool Learning Partnership (LLP); Shaping Futures; All About STEM; Hi-Impact Consultancy; LSSP; Air Products; School Improvement Liverpool; CER Education and Progress Schools.

inspirational teacher


Most Inspirational Primary School

Eldon Primary School

Whitefield Primary School

New Park Primary School


Most Inspirational Secondary School

Formby High School

Tauheedul Islam Boys’ High School

Halewood Academy


Most Inspirational 16-18 Education Provider

Alsop High School

St John Rigby College

Archbishop Blanch School

Birkenhead Sixth Form College


Community Partnership Award

Alsop High School

Kilgarth School

Woodchurch CE Primary School


Outstanding Commitment to Sport in Primary School

Bickerstaffe CE School

Booker Avenue Junior School

Plantation Primary School

St Oswald’s CE Primary School


Outstanding Commitment to Sport in Secondary School

Bebington High Sports College

Gateacre School

Rainford High


Eco School Project of the Year

Calderstones School

St Edmund Arrowsmith Catholic Centre for Learning

St Michael’s CofE High School


Communication Award

Alsop High School

Formby High School

Gateacre School


Teacher of the Year

Kirstin O’Kane – Bickerstaffe CE School

Ruth Partington – The Academy of St Nicholas

Maz Catterall – Halewood Academy

Suaad Hussain – The Academy of St Francis of Assisi

Matthew O’Keeffe – The Belvedere Academy


Spirit of Enterprise Award

Bebington High School Farm

St Damian’s RC Science College

Gateacre School


Innovative and Creative Literacy Award

Middlefield Community Primary School

St Damian’s RC Science College

The District CE Primary School

St John Bosco Arts College


SEND Provision Award

Alsop High School

Clare Mount Specialist Sports College

Finch Woods Academy

Orrets Meadow School

Whitefield Primary School


STEM Project of the Year

Mosslands School

The District CE Primary School

Calday Grange Grammar School


Career Aspiration Award

Parish CE Primary School

St Margaret’s Academy

The Academy of St Francis of Assisi

The Academy of St Nicholas


Leadership Team of the Year

Tauheedul Islam Boys’ High School

Winstanley College

Ormiston Chadwick Academy


Outstanding Teaching of Life Skills

Eldon Primary School

Netherton Moss Primary School

The Academy of St Francis of Assisi


Support Star of the Year

Linda Farrelly – The Academy of St Nicholas

Sara Mitchell – New Park Primary School

Michelle Goodwin – Hope Academy

Greg McLean – St Margaret’s Academy

Fran Gaskell – St Christopher’s Catholic Primary School


Innovation in Education Award

Evelyn Community Primary School

The Academy of St Francis of Assisi

The Hollins Technology College


Outstanding Arts in a Primary School

Bedford Primary

Riverside Primary School

St Sebastian’s Catholic Primary School


Outstanding Arts in a Secondary School

Archbishop Blanch School

Holly Lodge Girls’ College

The Hollins Technology College


Wow Recognition Award

The Hollins Technology College

Rudston Primary School

Holy Family Catholic Primary School

Rainford High