Shortlist revealed for the Educate Awards 2016

Shortlist revealed for The Educate Awards 2016

The shortlist for the prestigious Educate Awards 2016 has been revealed.

The awards, in partnership with Copyrite Systems and Ricoh, is now in its fifth year and is the biggest celebration of education in the North West.

Held at Liverpool Cathedral, it is the one night of the year where the excellence of schools in the Liverpool City Region, Cheshire and Lancashire is celebrated and rewarded in a unique fashion, bringing together inspiring leaders and support staff to showcase the brilliance within the region’s education sector.

Hundreds of entries were sent in across the 21 award categories, breaking previous records. Categories include the WOW Recognition Award, Outstanding Sport and Teacher of the Year.

The judges remarked on the variety of entries across all 21 categories and the exceptional standard of submissions. The passion and innovation showcased throughout made choosing this year’s shortlist the most difficult yet.

This difficult task of shortlisting the entries fell upon the esteemed judging panel which includes Henry Platten, founder of the multi award-winning eCadet Scheme; Michelle Dow, managing director of All About STEM; James Tartt, Merseyside track athlete and architect; Radio City breakfast host Leanne Campbell; Olympian and managing director of Raise The Bar, Steve Smith; Councillor Gary Millar, Liverpool’s cabinet member for business, enterprise and investment; Chris Walker, regional managing editor of Trinity Mirror North West and North Wales; Lesley Martin-Wright, chief executive of Knowsley Chamber; Fiona Barnet, director of The Foundry Agency; Andrew Pimbley of Wirral’s Claremont Farm; and the education team at the respected Everyman and Playhouse Theatres.

The winners will be announced at the annual awards ceremony, which takes place on Friday 18 November at Liverpool Cathedral.

Commenting on the shortlist, Kim O’Brien, founder of the Educate Awards, says: “We’re delighted to finally reveal the shortlisted schools ahead of the Educate Awards ceremony next month. With more entries than ever before, this year our judges found it so challenging to put together the final shortlists for each category.

“The dedication, hard work and impact that teachers, support staff and school communities have is truly humbling and it was fantastic to see so many schools from across the region enter and put their projects forward. The entries this year have been amazing so thank you to each and every school that entered and best of luck to all those shortlisted.”

Associate sponsors at the awards include Hays Education, All About STEM, The Foundry Agency, Greater Merseyside Learning Providers’ Federation (GMLPF), eCadets, The Bishop of Liverpool, Kier Construction Northern, Merseyside Network for Collaborative Outreach (MNCO), PCS Law, Capita Education, Wray Brothers, Educ8 Group, School Improvement Liverpool Ltd, Liverpool John Moores University and the Witherslack Group Ltd.

And the shortlist is…

Most Inspirational Primary School

Morecambe Bay Community Primary School

New Park Primary School

Barnton Community Nursery and Primary School

Leamington Community Primary School


Most Inspirational Secondary School

Hope Academy

St Michael’s CE High School

St Damian’s RC Science College

Shaftesbury High School


Most Inspirational 16-18 Education Provider

St Margaret’s CE Academy

Winstanley College

St John Rigby College


Community Partnership Award

Gateacre School

Bickerstaffe CE Primary School

Springwood Heath Primary School and Kingsmoor Manor

Bishop David Sheppard CE Primary School


Outstanding Commitment to Sport in Primary School

Bidston Avenue Primary School

Halewood CofE Primary

Prescot Primary School

Cronton CE Primary School


Outstanding Commitment to Sport in Secondary School

Clare Mount Specialist Sports College

Rainford High Technology College

St Vincent’s School for the Visually Impaired

St Augustine of Canterbury Catholic High School


Eco School Project of the Year

St Francis Xavier’s College

St Damian’s RC Science College

Neston High School


Communication Award

Enterprise South Liverpool Academy

Holly Lodge Girls’ College

Archbishop Blanch School

Carr Hill High School


Teacher of the Year

Danny Watkins – Cowley International College

Chris Eglin – Valewood Primary School

Martyn Dutton – Barnton Community Primary School

David Swanston – St Vincent’s School for the Visually Impaired


Spirit of Enterprise Award

New Park Primary School

Archbishop Blanch School

Neston High School


Innovative and Creative Literacy Award

Rainford High Technology College

Accrington Academy

Evelyn Community Primary School

Bishop David Sheppard CofE Primary School


SEND Provision Award

Clare Mount Specialist Sports College

The Observatory School

Springwood Heath Primary School


STEM Project of the Year

Gateacre School

Rudston Primary School

Dovedale Primary School

St Margaret’s CE Academy


Outstanding Arts in Primary School

Cherry Grove Primary School

Netherton Moss Primary School

Riverside Primary School


Outstanding Arts in Secondary School

Archbishop Temple School

The Belvedere Academy

Formby High School

Archbishop Blanch High School


Career Aspiration Award

All Saints Catholic High School

Notre Dame Catholic College

Enterprise South Liverpool Academy


WOW Recognition Award

Calday Grange Grammar School

Enterprise South Liverpool Academy

Alsop High School

Eldon Primary School


Leadership Team of the Year

Netherton Moss Primary School

Archbishop Temple School

Eldon Primary School


Innovation in Education Award

Gilmour Infants School

Whitefield Primary School

The Observatory School


Outstanding Teaching of Life Skills

Lakeside School

Rainford CE Primary School

Gateacre School

Churchtown Primary School


Support Star of the Year

Diane Reeves – Holy Family Halewood Catholic Primary School

Lisa Mitchell – Gateacre School

Tony Purcell – Enterprise South Liverpool Academy